The Party With A Difference

Shri Gulab Singh Thakur

Shri Gulab Singh Thakur is an elected Member of Himachal Pradesh State Legislative Assembly, representing Jogindernagar Assembly segment in Mandi District.

He is son of late Shri Lal Singh; born on May 29, 1948 at village Majharnu (Jogindernagar), Distt. Mandi; B.A. & LL.B.; educated at Punjab University, Chandigarh; married to late Smt. Hima Devi; one son and three daughters; Agriculturist & Advocate.

Active member of various organizations during college years; elected to State Legislative Assembly in 1977 on Janata Party ticket; joined Congress Party in 1980; was re-elected to the Assembly in 1982 (Independent), 1990, 1993, 1998 as Congress Party nominee and in December, 2007 as Bhartiya Janata Party nominee.

Remained Member: H.P. State Land Reforms Committee, DRUC, Northern Railway, Social Audit Panel, Ministry of Communications, Govt. of India, National Institute of Rural Development; Director, F.C.I. (H.P.), 1985-88, and Himachal Gramin Bank , 1985-88; Chairman, Govt. Committee on payment of Ex-gratia grants to Small & Marginal Farmers.

Minister of State,i) Panchayats and Prison Welfare, 1979-80, ii) Co-operation and Education, 1982-83, iii) Civil Supplies and Co-operation, 1984-85; Chairman Public Accounts Committee, 1990-91; Revenue Minister, 1993-98; before being elevated to the Office of Speaker on March 30, 1998 resigned from the Congress Party to remain un-attached; and Public Works & Revenue Minister from January 2008-2012 . As Speaker, participated in various CPA and All India Presiding Officers Conferences.

Elected to the State Legislative Assembly for a seventh term in December, 2012.

  • Special Interest : Sports and Reading.
  • Travels Abroad : As delegate CPA (H.P. State Branch) attended 44th CPA Conference held in Newzealand, 45th Conference in Trinidad (Tobago), 46th Conference in England, 47th Conference in Australia and 48th Conference in Namibia.
  • Awards: Recipient of Vijaya Shree Award given by the International Friendship Society of India, 1986.